Filing Bankruptcy in New Hampshire
Talk to a Bankruptcy Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
Updated May 24, 2016
Bankruptcy is a system of federal law, so the process to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy or to file for Chapter 13 bankruptcy is nearly identical in every state, including New Hampshire. However, state law plays an important role, particularly in setting property exemptions, which determine what property you get to keep (if you file for Chapter 7) and how much you have to repay your creditors (if you file for Chapter 13). There are also important resources available to you by state.
Before you file for Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy in New Hampshire, you will have to complete mandatory credit counseling with an agency that’s been approved by the United States Trustee’s Office. Here’s a list of agencies in New Hampshire that have been approved to provide this counseling.
Where to File
In New Hampshire, the bankruptcy court is located in Manchester. At the court’s website, you can find information on forms, local rules, and more.
Like every other state, New Hampshire has its own set of property exemptions. (To learn more about how property exemptions work generally and which exemptions you may use, see Bankruptcy Exemptions: What Do I Keep When I File for Bankruptcy?)
In New Hampshire, you may use either the New Hampshire state exemptions, or the federal bankruptcy exemptions.
In New Hampshire, you can exempt up to $100,000 of real property or manufactured housing. You can also exempt various items of personal property, including: beds, bedding, cooking utensils, burial plots, clothing, stoves, refrigerators, furniture to $3,500, jewelry to $500, and a motor vehicle to $4,000. New Hamshire also allows bankruptcy filers to exempt certain wages, various pensions, some public benefits, and tools of your trade to $5,000, among other things. Here’s a list of New Hampshire exemptions.
The Means Test
When you file for bankruptcy, you must compare your income to the median income for a household of your size in New Hampshire. If your income is less than the median, you will be eligible to file for Chapter 7 and, if you choose to file for Chapter 13, you can use a three-year repayment plan (rather than five years).
Currently, the median New Hampshire income for a one-person household is about $56,000; these figures change periodically. You can find the most recent amounts on the website of the U.S. Trustee at www.justice.gov/ust. Click on “Means Testing Information.”
After you file for bankruptcy but before you receive your discharge, you must take a debtor education course. Like the mandatory credit counseling you must take before filing your forms, you must receive debtor education from an agency approved by the U.S. Trustee’s Office. Here a list of agencies approved to provide this course in New Hampshire.
Getting Help From a Bankruptcy Lawyer
If you're considering bankruptcy, you may want to talk to an experienced New Hampshire bankruptcy lawyer.