Updated May 24, 2016
Bankruptcy is a system of federal law, so the process to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy or to file for Chapter 13 bankruptcy is nearly identical in every state, including North Dakota. However, state law plays an important role, particularly in setting property exemptions, which determine what property you get to keep (if you file for Chapter 7) and how much you have to repay your creditors (if you file for Chapter 13). There are also important resources available to you by state.
Before you file for Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy in North Dakota, you will have to complete mandatory credit counseling with an agency that’s been approved by the United States Trustee’s Office. Here’s a list of agencies in North Dakota that have been approved to provide this counseling.
In North Dakota, the bankruptcy court is in Fargo. At the court’s website, you can find information on forms, local rules, and more.
Like every other state, North Dakota has its own set of property exemptions. (To learn more about how property exemptions work generally and which exemptions you may use, see Bankruptcy Exemptions: What Do I Keep When I File for Bankruptcy?)
In North Dakota, you must use the state’s exemption list; although some states allow debtors to choose between the state list and a federal list, North Dakota isn’t one of them.
In North Dakota, bankruptcy filers can exempt up to $100,000 of real property, a house trailer, or mobile home. Spouses may not double this amount. You may also exempt a bible, other books, burial plots, church pews, and child support payments, among other things. Here’s a list of North Dakota exemptions.
When you file for bankruptcy, you must compare your income to the median income for a household of your size in North Dakota. If your income is less than the median, you will be eligible to file for Chapter 7 and, if you choose to file for Chapter 13, you can use a three-year repayment plan (rather than five years).
Currently, the median North Dakota income for a one-person household is around $49,000; these figures change periodically. You can find the most recent amounts on the website of the U.S. Trustee at www.justice.gov/ust. Click on “Means Testing Information.”
After you file for bankruptcy but before you receive your discharge, you must take a debtor education course. Like the mandatory credit counseling you must take before filing your forms, you must receive debtor education from an agency approved by the U.S. Trustee’s Office. Here a list of agencies approved to provide this course in North Dakota.
If you're considering bankruptcy, you may want to talk to an experienced North Dakota bankruptcy lawyer.